Universally Speaking


Riaan-4

I get asked a lot about how I get the shots of the children in the way that I do.  It is like children are programmed to smile at the camera as soon as they see it.  This is something I actively work against.  My shoots are fun & we laugh but when it comes to what I shoot I prefer for the camera not to take centre stage.

I don’t think about what I do generally but when photographing this boy, we didn’t even speak the same language.  It is an image that sits in my style.  Despite our language barriers I have been let into the child’s space & trusted with a camera there.

It made me realise, in the same way as when photographing animals, sometimes the connection isn’t about language but more about time.  I take time to interact with those that I photograph, I get let into their spaces & the results say so much more to me because of this.

Children’s photography is a genre dominated but cliques.  I’m glad that I get to share my view of their worlds in a slightly different way.

Leave a Reply

